HowTheLightGetsIn Hay 2024 gathers global thought leaders to answer the most pressing questions of our era.

From cannonical philosophers and political insiders, to physics visionaries and sharp cultural critics, check out the speakers so far.

Keep exploring! Check out the Big Ideas we're bringing to Hay with our Debate programme...

  Explore debates

David Patraeus HowTheLightGetsIn Festival

David Petraeus

Former Director of the CIA
Gillian Tett HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2

Gillian Tett

Chair of Financial Times Editorial Board
zizek 169

Slavoj Žižek

Maverick philosopher
200902 dennett inside 1

Daniel Dennett

Renowned Philosopher of Consciousness
thangam Debbonaire HowTheLightGetSIn Festival Hay 2024

Thangam Debbonaire

Shadow Minister for Culture, Media and Sport
Roger Penrose HowTheLIghtGetsIN Festival 2024

Roger Penrose

Nobel prize winning physicist
JOhn Bercow HowTheLightGetsIN Hay 2024 Festival

John Bercow

Former speaker of the commons
lynn segal resized

Lynne Segal

Iconic socialist feminist
23 07 20.peter singer.ata

Peter Singer

World renowned ethicist
john lennox

John Lennox

Internationally renowned mathematician
Denis Nobel HowThelIghtGetsIN Hay 20204 Festival

Denis Noble

Leading Biologist
amy chua 169

Amy Chua

Outspoken legal writer and commentator
Dan Anely

Dan Ariely

Irrationality Expert
Alicia Kearns HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024

Alicia Kearns

Outspoken foreign policy hawk
Donald Hoffman23

Donald Hoffman

Leading anti-reality theorist
Ilan Pappe HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024

Ilan Pappé

Outspoken critical Israeli historian
Cristina lamb

Christina Lamb

Sunday Times chief foreign correspondent
Avshalom Elitzur HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Philosophy Festival

Avshalom Elitzur

Revolutionary space time physicist
Scott Aaronson HowTheLightGetsIn Festival 2024

Scott Aaronson

Top quantum complexity theorist
Chris Lintott HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024

Chris Lintott

Oxford astrophysicist and presenter
Jenny kleeman

Jenny Kleeman

Journalist and broadcaster
Tommy Curry HowTheLightGetsIn Hay 202

Tommy Curry

Pioneering Philospher of Race
Priya Natarajan HTLGI Hay Festival 2024

Priya Natarajan


Stuart Hameroff

Quantum Consciousness Theorist
armen sarkissan

Armen Sarkissien

Former president of Armenia
eva illouz 169

Eva Illouz

Groundbreaking sociologist of emotion
Guy Standing HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024

Guy Standing

Pioneering labour economist
Myriam Francois HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 20204

Myriam François

Filmmaker and activist
meissner HowThelightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024

Krzysztof Meissner

Groundbreaking Physicist
THeodore Dalrymple HowThelIGhtGetsIN Festival Hay 2024

Theodore Dalrymple

Acclaimed author and critic
Ali Allawi HowTheLightGetsIn Festival Hay 2024

Ali Allawi

Veteran Iraqi politician and scholar
Aaron Bastani HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024 2

Aaron Bastani

Leftist media disruptor
Paul Bloom

Paul Bloom

Anti-Empathy Psychologist
simon baron cohen acc51880 cde5 4f9c 8905 a4155adcc51 resize 750

Simon Baron-Cohen

Pioneering clinical psychologist
Hilary Lawson HowTheLightGetsIn Festival Hay 2024

Hilary Lawson

Radical post-post modern philosopher
Claudia de Rham HowThelIghtGetsIn Hay Festival 2024

Claudia de Rham

Pioneering physicist
Shini Somara 169

Shini Somara

Celebrated science communicator
Tim Maudlin HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024

Tim Maudlin

World-leading philosopher of physics
John Ralston Saul HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024 2

John Raulston Saul

World-renowned writer and anti-globalism activist
smith subrena 752x501

Subrena E. Smith

Leading opponent of evolutionary psychology
jack symes chosen

Jack Symes

Trailblazing emerging philosopher
Shannon Vallor HowTheLightGetsIn Hay 2024 2

Shannon Vallor

Prophetic AI ethicist
frank tallis

Frank Tallis

Psychotherapist and award-winning author
Mary Ann Seigheart HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024

Mary Ann Sieghart

Stalwart public intellectual
gunes taylor

Gunes Taylor

Award-winning geneticist
Isabel Hilton HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024

Isabel Hilton

Leading China expert
Harry Cliff HowTheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024

Harry Cliff

Celebrated Physicist and Science Communicator
Rana Mitter HowTheLightGetsIn Haty 2024

Rana Mitter

Historian and political scientist
Joanna Kavenna HowtheLightGetsIn Hay Festival 2024

Joanna Kavenna

Acclaimed novelist
Steve Taylor2

Steve Taylor

Psyhchologist and spirituality expert
Des Fitzgerald HowTheLightGetsIn Festival Hay 2024

Des Fitzgerald

New Generation sociologist
CLaire provost HowTHelGIhtGetsIn Festival Hay 2024

Claire Provost

Discerning investigative journalist

   Book Now